Temporary Government of Rupert's Land Act, 1869

32-33 Victoria, c. 3 (Canada)

An Act for the temporary Government of Rupert's Land and the North-Western Territory when united with Canada.

[Assented to 22nd June, 1869]

Whereas it is probable that Her Majesty the Queen may, pursuant to the "Constitution Act, 1867," be pleased to admit Rupert's Land and the North-Western Territory into the Union or Dominion of Canada, before the next Session of the Canadian Parliament: And whereas it is expedient to prepare for the transfer of the said Territories from the Local Authorities to the Government of Canada, at the time appointed by the Queen for such admission, and to make some temporary provision for the Civil Government of such Territories until more permanent arrangements can be made by the Government and Legislature of Canada; Therefore, Her Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate and House of Commons of Canada, enacts as follows:

1. The said Territories when admitted as aforesaid, shall be styled and known as "The North-West Territories."

2. It shall be lawful for the Governor, by any Order or Orders, to be by him from time to time made, with the advice of the Privy Council, (and subject to such conditions and restrictions as to him shall seem meet) to authorize and empower such Officer as he may from time to time appoint as Lieutenant-Governor of the North-West Territories. to make provision for the administration of Justice therein, and generally to make. ordain, and establish all such Laws, Institutions and Ordinances as may be Necessary for the Peace, Order and good Government of Her Majesty's subjects and others herein; provided that all such Orders in Council, and all Laws and Ordinances, so to be made aforesaid, shall be laid before both Houses of Parliament as soon as conveniently may be after the making and enactment thereof respectively.

3. The Lieutenant-Governor shall administer the Government under instructions from time to time given him by Order in Council.

4. The Governor may, with the advice of the Privy Council, constitute and appoint, by Warrant under his Sign Manual, a Council of not exceeding fifteen nor less than seven persons, to aid the Lieutenant-Governor in the administration of affairs, with such powers as may be from time to time conferred upon them by Order in Council.

5. All the Laws in force in Rupert's Land and the North-Western Territory, at the time of their admission into the Union, shall so far as they are consistent with the "Constitution Act, 1867,''--with the terms and conditions of such admission approved of by the Queen under the 146th section thereof,--and with this Act, --remain in force until altered by the Parliament of Canada, or by the Lieutenant Governor under the authority of this Act.

6. All Public Officers and Functionaries holding office in Rupert's Land and the NorthWestern Territory, at the time of their admission into the Union, excepting the Public Officer or Functionary at the head of the administration of affairs, shall continue to be Public Officers and Functionaries of the North-West Territories with the same duties and powers as before. until otherwise ordered by the Lieutenant Governor, under the authority of this Act

7. This Act shall continue in force until the end of the next Session of Parliament.

[Note: The Act was re-enacted and continued in force for a further period of time by the Manitoba Act 1870, s. 36].

Last HTML revision: 1 October, 1995.

Please send bug reports, comments or suggestions to W.F.M.